June 8, 2016


---->

A recent weekend discussion over at MST3KINFO.COM really got me thinking about stingers as I considered what good stingers would be for shows that had none. So, what makes a good stinger? After much thought, I've realized that a stinger can be ANYTHING! It can be funny, thought-provoking, or, as my friend once put it, "a moment of Zen". It can be kind-of about the movie like "Day the Earth Froze", it can have everything to do with the movie like "It Conquered the World", or it can have nothing to do with the movie like "Manos". Therefore, I decided to go through the library and create my own stingers for movies that didn't have them and those that did alike. As of now I have a few dozen done for some of my favorites, but they will start popping up here and there.

April 12, 2016


---->

I've just now started playing with SVG graphics and so the RPM-o-meters for each season are now in purty-lookin' SVG. What else can I do with SVG...? Hmm....

March 14, 2016


---->

Yes, indeed! Season 11 is upon us and, hopefully, a few more seasons are a foregone conclusion. And so, what does that mean for this site? A legitimate question to which I don't know the answer yet. I have not decided if I will just keep right on going and seamlessly blend the new season(s) into the site, or if it would be better to split the entities, at least for the meantime. Not only is there something hallowed about the first 10 seasons, but they've been simmering for so long, I'm not sure if a fair comparison is possible. I mean, can Metallica's "Ride the Lightning" truly be compared to "St. Anger"? I have every intention of giving the new seasons their rightful place, but as you may have noticed, speed is not really my strong suit. So, keep checking back, especially about the time a few EPs of the new season have been unveiled. (This is gonna be so fun!)

May 13, 2015


---->

I've decided to step back and take a good hard look at my own personal rankings. Since I last did my rankings a few years ago, naturally, some shows have fallen back and some have risen to the top as I've had a chance to view some eps for the second or third time to properly gauge where they stand. For instance, I'd only seen "608: Code Name: Diamonhead" and "620: Danger Death Ray" once each before the original ranking, but both of those have quickly become faves as others, "520: Radar Secret Service" have fallen to make room for the risers.

Feb 27, 2015


---->

I redid the calendar to have an episode on EVERY day instead of episodes spaced out throughout the year. I mean, who wants to wait 2 days between episodes? With 365 days, that's enough to have each episode twice and the top 13 episodes (per the Mstie Community rankings) three times each.

Feb 19, 2015


---->

This is really just a note to let you all know of some very small cosmetic tweaks/fixes to the site and also that I've done some behind the scenes improvements that will make updates MUCH easier which will hopefully facilitate gittin' 'er done. Incidentally

Dec 1, 2014


---->

I finally got the Box Sets pages updated with sets 30, 31, and 32.

Jun 19, 2014


---->

Every single episode now has at least a still-frame of the title screen in its photo gallery. I'm also experimenting with animated stills, which I REALLY like! Check out "904: Werewolf" for an example.

---->

In other news, long story short, I decided that my number-crunching as it related to the Mstie Community votes for favorite episodes was flawed. I was CLOSE, but my final step of making two ranked lists and then taking the average of those was unfairly ranking "inferior" shows above "superior" shows. I had an epiphany that a show's inclusion on a list was a testament to its superiority over a show NOT on the list. If someone gave me a ranked list of 10 shows, they were giving me the same information as someone with a ranked list of 176 shows, they just had 166 shows tied for 11th place. What it all means is that there was SOME movement in rankings and awards. Not a ton, but enough to notice here and there.

Dec 20, 2013


---->

Added box sets 28 and 29.

Jul 22, 2013


---->

The RPM-o-meters for each season now have a maximum and minimum value that reflects the ENTIRE series, not just the season. That makes it easier to see how this season did against everything. I also added some backshading so it's easier to see how "full" each meter is.

Jul 5, 2013


---->

Added characters, summaries, reflections and riffs for a lot of my favorite shorts.

May 28, 2013


---->

Finished ALL of the host segment descriptions and grades. Incidentally, some episode reflections have been modified.

---->

Added picture galleries to ~12 shorts.

---->

Added box sets #25, #26, and #27 to the Box Sets page.

---->

The index page, while maintaining content, is 15% smaller. I hope that means it loads 15% quicker.

Mar 29, 2012


---->

Added box sets #23 and #24 to the box set page.

Sep 15, 2011


---->

Completed reviews for shorts Assignment: Venezuela, Date With Your Family, Design for Dreaming, Here Comes the Circus, Hired parts One and Two, Is This Love, Johnny at the Circus, Junior Rodeo Daredevils, Once Upon a Honeymoon, Out of This World, Speech: Using Your Voice, and Speech: Platform Appearance.

Aug 9, 2011


---->

Finished adding captions for all of the movie posters.

Aug 8, 2011


---->

Added info for Box Set #22.

June 13, 2011


---->

Added two new random banners to the title page.

June 1, 2011


---->

Added info for Box Set #21, the Gamera set!

---->

Fixed a CSS typo that was messing up box set and gallery fonts on the Lite review site.

---->

Misc typos fixed.

November 5, 2010


---->

The Tough Guy/Gal/Group Bracket winner have been announced The Beatniks and Godzilla!

November 5, 2010


---->

Round #5 voting is now open in the Tough Guy/Gal/Group Bracket!

November 4, 2010


---->

Round #4 voting is now open in the Tough Guy/Gal/Group Bracket!

November 1, 2010


---->

Round #3 voting is now open in the Tough Guy/Gal/Group Bracket!

October 27, 2010


---->

Round #2 voting is now open in the Tough Guy/Gal/Group Bracket!

October 26, 2010


---->

Added a bunch of movie poster captions for Seasons 1 and 2.

October 25, 2010


---->

Voting is now open in the Tough Guy/Gal/Group survey!

September 24, 2010


---->

Added some more random banners to the title page.

---->

Changed the banners from being completely random to be based on the second. That way you can see them all just by refreshing the page every second instead of pure chance. No, I don't expect you to read the caption in one second, but at least this gives it some order.

September 23, 2010


---->

Added an actual colored meter to the "RPM-o-Meter" section in each season's summary.

September 22, 2010


---->

I watched "Werewolf" last night and between that and writing my "Excellence Explained" sections, I realized what a masterpiece it is and that I may not have it ranked high enough. Therefore, I've re-ranked all of my Enshrined eps against each other. Episodes that moved up at least five slots include 211 12 to 7, 810 24 to 18, 820 15 to 8, 821 27 to 20, and 904 17 to 9. Shows that lost at least five slots include 405 19 to 26, 406 13 to 25, 410 22 to 27, 506 5 to 14, 619 8 to 13. It looks like I had a youth movement or something with a bunch of Sci-Fi era shows moving up! There weren't any "Verified: Sacred" changes.

September 21, 2010


---->

Added "Excellence Explained" section to each season's summary.

---->

Added random title banners to the main page.

August 30, 2010


---->

Re-did some of the large movie posters for 113, 210, 212, 306, 314, 505, 509, 623, 703, 911, 1008 and they look SO much better.

---->

Some of the above shows have new posters.

August 27, 2010


---->

There are ~25 shows that are "Verified: Awesome", but let's be honest, can "Starfighters" really hold a candle to the sacred classic "Manos"? I say (with all due respect to #612) "NO!", and so I have created another "Verified" award called which is given to shows that both myself and Msties rank in the top ~20. I'm careful to give this to no more than 10 shows.

---->

Some favorite show rankings have continued to trickle in so I have updated the Mstie Rankings. It's not like TON of stuff has changed but "322: Master Ninja" bettered its award, "805: Thing that Couldn't Die" bettered its award, and "908: Touch of Satan" decreased its award. The "Laud & Praise" page has been updated thusly for those that left their name.

August 26, 2010


---->

Added the RPM moving average to the Period Avg. page in the Sorted Lists section.

August 25, 2010


---->

Added some more pics for 301, 422, 424, 506, 820, 904, and 1005.

---->

Added an interesting page to the "Sorted Lists" section called "Period Avg." Math jargon: It's a five point moving average of show rankings. There's a thorough description at the top of the page, but it's basically a visual representation of how good groups of chronological shows were. When were the best stretches? When did show quality start to decline? Check it out!

August 18, 2010


---->

Added something kind of fun to the "Sorted Lists" section called "Themes" which groups certain movies by a common theme and then ranks them. For instance, what was the Mstie Community's favorite Japanese Monster movie? Corman film? It's there!

---->

Decided that the information in the "Awards Summary" section was a bit redundant, so I got rid of that section. That being said...

---->

I added award thumbnails to the "Host Seg Rank" page in the "Sorted Lists" section so you can still see which episodes had good host segments even if they didn't get an award.

---->

Realized that I don't yet have a full, ranked, Shorts list. So I added a page called "Andrew's Shorts" to the "Sorted Lists" section.

August 17, 2010


---->

More fuzzy posters cleaned up, missing posters replaced, and several typos fixed.

August 16, 2010


---->

Spruced up the Photo Galleries so the picture borders resemble the old-time Polaroid take-and-shake photos. Cool!

---->

Some of the posters for episodes that featured TV shows had some sizing problems and this looked fuzzy. Most are fixed.

August 12, 2010


---->

Added captions to a lot of the movie posters.

---->

Did some general cleanup of posters. Added one here, took one away there.

---->

Got most of the "Bloodwaters of Dr. Z" review done and fixed the names in the review.

August 11, 2010


---->

Replaced the posters on the reviews with thumbnails, which will decrese loading time. They still link to their larger counterparts, though.

August 10, 2010


---->

More posters are up, meaning most of the episodes have posters.

---->

Better quality posters are up.

---->

You can now click on a poster to see the larger version.

August 9, 2010


---->

Now have movie posters for most reviews!

---->

Added a "thanks" page.

August 3, 2010


---->

In the vein of the "Verified: Awesome" award, I have added a award. These are episodes that both myself and the Mstie Community just don't like as much as we like other episodes. If we both have the show in the bottom ~40, it's toxic!

---->

I added another column to the index, this time it's an RPM light to let you know roughly what the RPM's were like for this show. The light color matches the RPM color in the header of each episode's review.

July 29, 2010


---->

The index page now shows Andrew and Mstie awards for each episode, which means I had to shorten the review checks to one character each. Still looks good, though!

July 26, 2010


---->

Enhanced the box set review page to include Mstie Community grades for each episode.

---->

The viewing calendar now has its own link in the table of contents.

---->

Finished "Appreciating Our Parents" review.

July 23, 2010


---->

The site now reflects the movie list for DVD set 19!

---->

If an episode or short is available on DVD, I now show what set it's in. This can be found in the DVD list in the foreword section of each season, and in each ep's/short's review.

July 22, 2010


---->

Added/expanded photo galleries for: 402, 406, 410, 501, 504, 505, and 506.

July 20, 2010


---->

Added "The Lighter Side" which is my site, only with a brighter color scheme.

---->

Re-organized the INDEX page a bit so it's a bit more readable.

---->

Added a DVD symbol to each episode's review if it's on

---->

Added a section to each season's foreword that lists episodes and a season count.

July 15, 2010


---->

Added a DVD symbol to the index page indicating which movies/shorts are on available on DVD.

---->

Finished porting my site building program to a newer, faster language. You don't care, but I do!

July 14, 2010


---->

Six more shorts have photo galleries.

---->

I realized that all this time, I had "Samson" misspelled. Oops!!

July 13, 2010


---->

Added the "Index" page.

July 11, 2010


---->

Added galleries to seven more shorts.

---->

I noticed that some shorts were "Verified: Awesome"; a designation currently reserved for movies.

July 10, 2010


---->

I noticed that some the Mstie season ranks were WAY off, so I fixed them.

---->

Added some more pictures to galleries, "Are You Ready for Marriage" for instance.

June 10, 2010


---->

Some more photo galleries have been added and some have more pictures.

---->

"Magic Voyage of Sinbad" and "Outlaw" have been promoted to Enshrined status!

---->

I've ranked the seasons based on Mstie Community episode rankings and have added them to the season forewords.

June 6, 2010


---->

Added Photo Galleries to most Andrew's Choice Shows and fleshed out ones for certain Enshrined eps.

---->

For some reason, Mr. B's Lost Shorts on the Box Set page was being reported at having an "F" grade. It should be an "A+".

June 4, 2010


---->

Added Photo Galleries to all Enshrined shows.

June 3, 2010


---->

Added Roger Corman's birthday to the viewing calendar here.

---->

Added a "Summary" link to the show listing atop each season's page. This will take you back to the top of the season page.

May 13, 2010


---->

The new MST3K Viewing Calendar has been unveiled here.

Apr 6, 2010


---->

There's a new poll about how long you've been a Mstie. VOTE!

---->

Since the addition of the "Mstie Rankings" to my site, I've been curious how my list stacks up to the community's. Along those lines, I've added a denotation to certain episodes called which is given to episodes that both myself and the community have given "Choice" or "Enshrined" awards to.

---->

I have major egg on my face about my box set page. A very kind user left feedback that my box set grades made no sense, I responded that they sure did, and then I discovered that they indeed do not. Or at least there's a simpler, better way to figure box set grades. So I did it, and now it's much better.

Mar 31, 2010


---->

I changed the look of the "Not Bad" award. It used to feature Mr. Monopoly because this award was originally the second prize (get it?) for episodes. But after I created "Choice" and "Second Banana", it got bumped down to fourth and really didn't make sense any more.

---->

I've added awards to the "Mstie Community" rankings in a similar way they are applied to mine. They will first show up in the "Mstie Top 44" for the season and the "Mstie Rank" for each show, but may pop up elsewhere.

Mar 26, 2010


---->

Results of the "Definitive 'Favorite Mst3k Episode EVER' Poll" have been posted in the "Sorted Lists" section under "Mstie Rank" and I have incorporated into my site. The poll is still active, so that the list has the ability to change.

---->

I've added a "Polls" section where I'll post new surveys.

---->

I've renamed the "But Andrew..." page to "FAQ" and have answered some feedback I've been getting from my site survey.

Mar 17, 2010


Huge update!


---->

The first part of the update is a behind-the-scenes update as I rewrote the program that builds this site. The ratio of CSS to HTML used to be 1:4, but now it's more like 4:1. Hence, the pages are slightly smaller and they build and load quicker, which is good for me. Superficially, there's no change except for minor tweaks. Stuff like, the addition of a background image for the grades, the addition of RPM rank to each movie and short, the deletion of RPM speed by segment (did anyone care about that?), and a bit better control over table widths when resizing the browser or if a review is incomplete. It will also allow me to more easily add bells and whistles to the site in the future... stay tuned!

---->

The second part of the update is a pretty big one as I've majorly fleshed out my season forewords and I've added one for the shorts. What's new?

- First, there's a small blurb about the season. I've always had this, but I added a bit to each one.

- "Season Rank and Reflections" - Personal reflections about the season, and a season ranking. How'd I get the points for the ranking? One point for each enshrined show, one point for each top #44 show, one point for each A or B graded show, half a point for each great short, minus one point for each F graded episode and all of that divided by the number of shows per season. Yes, this means that all enshrined shows are worth three points, but it causes a nice cascading effect where shows are awarded more points as they increase in awesomeness. Oh, and why the top #44? There were 176 episodes, so the top one-quarter of those would be 176 * 25% = 44 shows.

- "RPM-o-meter" - What went on with the RPMs over the course of the season.

- Next, I've added a list of Enshrined and Choice episodes from each season, the top RPM getters for each season, and a special section that reflects the "Mstie Community's" ranking of the episodes. What do I mean by "Mstie Community"? I've scoured the 'net to find MST3K reviews and scores and have tabulated the results into a full ranking of all episodes. If there was a public opinion about an MST3K episode, it is reflected here. I'm working on a way to properly recognize everyone who contributed, but given the number of sources I used, not all of which identified whose opinion it was, not to mention that several sites don't exist anymore (I pulled the data from my collection of web reviews), it might be impossible. Nor can it be forgotten all of the scripting I had to do to extract scores from steaming piles of HTML. Yikes! I will, however, promise that anyone who contributed will get an equal share of the proceeds that I generate from this site (dramatic pause).

- "Defending the Classics" - Finally, I've added a section where I defend shows that I love, but the Mstie Community didn't favor.

---->

Okay, last but not least, I want to give all the props in the world to Mighty Jack's review site. That site has inspired me from the moment I found it. I understand that the sexy new style of my season reviews could be viewed as kind of derivative as MJ unveiled season reviews recently (actually, when I was about halfway done with mine, URGH!). But while the format is similar, the content certainly is not. Our sites are each unique and awesome. The only way to get it all is to view both sites daily. Nay, hourly!

Mar 10, 2010


Completed show 908: Touch of Satan

Mar 4, 2010


Completed show 907: Hobgoblins

Mar 1, 2010


There's a brand new title page with just a quick site description. There's also a new "Guided Tour" page, which is really just the Award Info page on steroids. I've also incorporated "Project: RIFF" into this website. It's just a simple one-pager for now, but I might expand it later...

Feb 22, 2010


I've retooled the Genres and there is now a "Genre" page in the "Sorted Lists" section. The genres are:

Alien Invasion


Movies with aliens visiting our planet or humans being out of place in an alien society, thus becoming alien themselves, go here.

Cops/Spies


Anything about secret agents or ninjas or any movie starring Joe Don Baker goes here.

Fantasy


"Sword & sorcery" type flicks or Russo-Finnish productions.

Horror


Movies with a supernatural flavor or movies about cults go here.

Drama


Movies with people talking at great length about absolutely nothing, or fist fighting.

Mutant Humans


Movies about once-normal people who are now products of increased size, transformation, or awry experimentation.

Mutant Beasts


Movies about large shrews or Japanese reptiles go here.

Space Travel


Movies taking place in or dealing heavily with outer space, or that involve planetary discovery go here.

Futuristic/Apocolyptic


If a Nazi-type government rules over the few remaining humans or the techno-jargon is knee-deep, the movie goes here.


Feb 15, 2010


I've ranked all movies against one another. You can find the full list on the "Overall Ranking" page in the "Sorted Lists" section. Each movie's ranking is also found in the individual show review.
Ditto for the shorts. You can find the full list on the "Overall Ranking" page in the "Sorted Lists" section, just below the movie list. Each short's ranking is also in the invidual short review.
Ditto for the host segments. The full list is on the "Host Seg Rank" page in the "Sorted Lists" section, and the ranking of each movie's set of host segments has been added to the movie's individual review. This list is still incomplete because I still have to grade and write descriptions for quite a few host segments. I'm workin' on it!
I've redone the host segment ranking system. It used to just be three levels, but I ended up with a ton of "Okay" segments. So I bumped "Great!" up to "Classic!!" and then divided the "Okay"'s up into "Okay" and "Great!"
If a group of host segments were really bad, I used to give them an "Oh! Suck" award, but I've changed that to "Oh! Crap." I think it sounds better.

The rankings are no-holds-barred, top-down. No ties, no waffling, just rankings. If a show or short has a better ranking, I like it better. Just FYI, it's a normal ranking; the lower the number, the better I like the show or short.
How did I get this ranking? By hand. I compared shows and shorts to one another and used associations to fill in the blanks. As my preferences change, so might this list, but for the most part, it's stable.